What are some interesting facts about Highways in India?

Types of Milestones on the basis of road

How do you know if a highway, you are travelling on, is a national highway, a state highway or a district/city road.

You would have noticed the different colours of the milestones alongside a road. In India, on administrative basis, there are 3 kind of roads – the one maintained by the Central Government bodies like NHAI, the respective state government and the district administration.

So the national highway has a white and yellow milestone.


A state highway has a white and green milestone.


And a city road has a black and white or simply white milestone.


A road constructed under “Pradhan Mantri Gram Sadak Yojana” will have orange and white milestone.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s